Endurance World Championship

Honda’s Suzuka 8 Hours Challenge ② 1990 - 1999

Honda’s Suzuka 8 Hours Challenge ② 1990 - 1999


A determined Wayne Gardner / Mick Doohan (RVF750) take pole position, build a solid lead in the early stages of the race, but crash on Lap 40. After rejoining the race, they charge hard to reclaim second place, but run out of gas, giving Tadahiko Taira / Eddie Lawson (Yamaha) the win.



Wayne Gardner / Mick Doohan

In a hectic race starting in the wet, and lights-on at 2pm for the first time, Wayne Gardner / Mick Doohan (RVF750) keep Kevin Magee / Doug Chandler (Yamaha) at bay to take the win.



Wayne Gardner / Daryl Beattie

Wayne Gardner, three-time winner and record holder of the Suzuka 8 Hours, announces his retirement from Suzuka 8 Hours racing. Daryl Beattie replaces injured Mick Doohan, helping Gardner take his Suzuka 8 Hours wins to four.


The last year of TT-F1 classification. Eddie Lawson / Satoshi Tsujimoto (RVF750) and pole-sitter Mick Doohan / Daryl Beattie (RVF750) fight for the lead, but both fail. Scott Russell / Aaron Slight (Kawasaki) set a steady pace to win the race.


1994 RVF/RC45

Doug Polen / Aaron Slight

Superbike classification is introduced. Scott Russel / Terry Rymer (Kawasaki) dominate the first ever special stage, but Doug Polen / Aaron Slight (RVF/RC45) reached the checkered flag 0.288s faster for the win.



Aaron Slight / Tadayuki Okada

Aaron Slight / Tadayuki Okada (RVF/RC45) fend off Shinichi Itoh / Satoshi Tsujimoto by 47 seconds to give Team HRC the top two spots. Slight achieves his third consecutive Suzuka 8 Hours win, as his RVF/RC45 covers a record-setting 212 laps.


Aaron Slight / Tadayuki Okada (RVF/RC45) takes pole position, but crashes during the race, alongside the other Honda factory bikes. Colin Edwards / Noriyuki Haga (Yamaha) become the youngest winners of the event.



Shinichi Itoh / Tohru Ukawa

The 20th Suzuka 8 Hours starts under wet conditions due to an approaching typhoon. The race held in relatively chilly 24℃ temperatures was won by Shinichi Itoh / Tohru Ukawa (RVF/RC45). This was the first time since the fifth Suzuka 8 Hours, also typhoon-affected, that an all-Japanese team had won.



Shinichi Itoh / Tohru Ukawa

Shinichi Itoh / Tohru Ukawa dominate from pole to finish. Honda dominates the top three spots on its 50th anniversary, with Seté Gibernau / Alex Barros (RVF/RC45) and Collin Edwards / Tadayuki Okada (RVF/RC45) taking second and third respectively. Honda also wins its second consecutive Suzuka 8 Hours.



Tadayuki Okada / Alex Barros

Rain starts to pour as the race enters its third hour. Tadayuki Okada’s teammate Alex Barros (RVF/RC45) stays on slick tires as other teams pit for rain tires. The skies rapidly clear, giving Tadayuki Okada / Alex Barros the advantage and the win.

1978~89 | 1990~99 | 2000~09 | 2010~19 | 2022~23

Published on