Race 2
IATC 2022
Round 4

Pratama pulls out seven seconds for stunning Race 2 win

th Chang International Circuit

The Indonesian stands on the top step for the first time in Buriram, ahead of Mie and a first podium for Thompson

Pratama pulls out seven seconds for stunning Race 2 win

What a masterclass! Race 2 at the OR Thailand Grand Prix saw Veda Ega Pratama pull the pin in the latter stages to take a stunning first Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup win, the Indonesian crossing the line over seven seconds clear of the duel for second. That duel saw Gun Mie classified in P2, with Australian Carter Thompson crossing the line ahead but demoted for track limits on the last lap. Still, it's the number 6's first podium after a run of bad luck and trouble, finally getting some payback for his pace.

With a damp track and a dry line emerging, it was an extra challenge on Sunday morning. Off the line it was polesitter Thompson vs points leader Hakim Danish for the holeshot, with the number 13 taking it. From there though it was initially a group fight, before mid-race saw Pratama make a break for it. Once the number 7 had taken the lead and established a small gap, it only got bigger. The only rider banging in the 1:51s with a host of fastest laps, Pratama's advantage grew and grew to the flag, eventually seeing the Indonesian rider take victory by over seven seconds.

The duel behind saw Mie and Thompson also able to gap those on the chase, with the two seven seconds off Pramata but with five in hand over the next group. The duel was on, and although Thompson made a pass stick on the final lap, he ventured onto the green - and with that came a demotion of one position. For Mie that means a valuable 20 points for second, and for Thompson any initial disappointment will be overtaken by the Australian finally getting that rostrum finish after getting so close before, and so close on Saturday.

It was an intriguing battle behind, with Shinya Ezawa and Hakim Danish both in a group fight for fourth and the points lead potentially at stake. Ultimately, Ezawa was able to take that fourth and cut the gap to just seven points at the top, with Danish forced to settle for seventh.

Between the two, Jakkreephat Phuettisan took an impressive fifth on home turf to equal his best result of the year, and Aan Riswanto bested his previous best by two positions to take sixth. Reykat Fadillah continued his solid points finishes with eighth place, and after a stunner of a save on the final lap. Thanakorn Lakharn took P9 on home soil, with Diandra Trihardika completing the top ten. Elsewhere, Amon Odaki was classified 14th after a scrappy race and run off, and Hamad al-Sahouti was forced into pitlane with a puncture.

That's a wrap on Buriram. Now the field have a little time to reset ahead of the penultimate round, with Sepang a few weeks away yet. Who will take the spoils in Malaysia? Join us from the 21st to the 23rd of October to find out!

Published on